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DEPARTMENT -OF REAL ESTATE

By 2 O\ecY,

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF REAL ESTATE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA
* % ok
In the Matter of the Accusation of
SERGIO MARTIN ARREGUIN, No. H-5960 SAC
Respondent.

ORDER DENYING REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSE
BUT GRANTING RIGHT TO A RESTRICTED LICENSE

On November 21, 2014, in Case No. H-5960 SAC, a Decision was rendered
revoking the real estate salesperson license of Respondent effective December 15, 2014.

On May 31, 2017, Respondent petitioned for reinstatement of said real estate
salesperson license, and the Attorney General of the State of California has been given notice of
the filing of said petition.

The burden of proving rehabilitation rests with the petitioner (Feinstein v. State
Bar (1952) 39 Cal. 2d 541). A petitioner is required to show greater proof of honesty and
integrity than an applicant for first time licensure. The proof must be sufficient to overcome the
prior adverse judgment on the applicant's character (Tardiffv. State Bar (1980) 27 Cal. 3d 395).

I have considered Respondent's petition and the evidence submitted in support

thereof,
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The Department has developed criteria in Section 2911 of Title 10, California
Code of Regulations (Regulations) to assist in evaluating the rehabilitation of an applicant for

reinstatement of a license. Among the criteria relevant in this proceeding are:

Reguiation 291i(g) Payment of the fine or other monetary Ipenal}y imposed in

connection with a criminal conviction or quasi-criminal judgment.

Respondent has not reimbursed the Department of Real Estate for the

investigation and prosecution costs in the amount of $5,318.30 that were ordered by the Decision
dated November 21, 2014.

Respondent has failed to demonstrate to my satisfaction that Respondent has

undergone sufficient rehabilitation to warrant the reinstatement of Respondent's unrestricted real

estate salesperson license.

I am satisfied, however, that it will not be against the public interest to issue a

restricted real estate salesperson license to Respondent.

A restricted real estate salesperson license shall be issued to Respondent pursuant

to Section 10156.5 of the Business and Professions Code, if Respondent satisfies the following

conditions prior to and as a condition of obtaining a restricted real estate salesperson license

within twelve (12) months from the effective date of this Order:

1. Respondent shall qualify for, take and pass the real estate salesperson

license examination.

2. Submittal of a completed application and payment of the fee for a real

estate salesperson license.

3. Respondent shall pay in full $5,318.30, reimbursement to the Department

of Real Estate, the investigation and prosecution costs ordered from the Decision dated

November 21, 2014.

The restricted lcense issued to Respondent shall be subject to all of the provisions

of Section 10156.7 of the Business and Professions Code and to the following limitations,
conditions and restrictions imposed under authority of Section 10156.6 of that Code:

-2-
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A. The restricted license issued to Respondent may be suspended prior to

hearing by Order of the Real Estate Commissioner in the event of Respondent's conviction or
plea of nolo contendere to a crime which is substantially related to Respondent’s fitness or
capacity as a real estate licensee.

B. The restricted license issued to Respondent may be suspended prior to

hearing by Order of the Real Estate Commissioner on evidence satisfactory to the
Commissioner that Respondent has violated provisions of the California Real Estate Law, the
Subdivided Lands Law, Regulations of the Real Estate Commissioner or conditions attaching to

the restricted license.

_c Respondent shall not be eligible to apply for the issuance of an

unrestricted real estate license nor the removal of any of the limitations, conditions or

restrictions of a restricted license until two (2) years have elapsed from the date of the issuance

of the restricted license to Respondent.

D. Respondent shall submit with any application for license under an

employing broker, or any application for transfer to a new employing broker, a statement signed
by the prospective employing real estate broker on a form approved by the Department of Real
Estate which shall certify:

1. That the employing broker has read the Decision of the Commissioner

which granted the right to a restricted license; and

2. That the employing broker will exercise close supervision over the

-

performance by the restricted licensee relating to activities for which a real estate license is

required.

E. Respondent shall notify the Commissioner in writing within 72 hours of X

— — e

any arrest by sending a certified letter to the Commissioner at the Department of Real Estate,

Post Office Box 137007, Sacramento, CA 95813-7007. The letter shall set forth the date of
Respondent's arrest, the crime for which Respondent was arrested and the name and address of

the arresting law enforcement agency. Respondent's failure to timely file written notice shall

s
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constitute an independent violation of the terms of the restricted license and shall be grounds for
the suspension or revocation of that license. ' I
This Order shall become effective at 12 o'clock noon on AUG 2 0 2018
ITIS SO ORDERED __J 1/ /;1 25,2018

DANIEL J. SANDRI
ACTING REAL ESTATE COMMISSIONER
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